Harddisk setup

sander

Registered
Hi,

Another question.
I have my IPbox for a week now and today a harddisk arrived and I installed it. It works fine, but when I go to the Advanced Setup menu, the option 'HDD Setup' is still greyed out.

I checked the manual but that said nothing about setup, only about how to install the HDD hardware into the IPbox.

So, what should I do to be able to use my HDD?

All tips will be appriciated.

Sander

ararat

Hi,

Another question.
I have my IPbox for a week now and today a harddisk arrived and I installed it. It works fine, but when I go to the Advanced Setup menu, the option 'HDD Setup' is still greyed out.

I checked the manual but that said nothing about setup, only about how to install the HDD hardware into the IPbox.

So, what should I do to be able to use my HDD?

All tips will be appriciated.

Sander

I'm not an expert, but ... did you perhaps forget to format your HDD before installing it ?
In case the ipbox does the formatting of a new installed HDD itself (I don't know, because I intend to order my box next week and don't posses one,yet) or if your HDD was formatted - forget my post. :thum:

sander

Registered
I guess I was thinking too much like consumer, when I saw 'Setup HDD' in the OSD.
I'll take this opportunity to practice my Linux skills and format the disk myself.

cheers,

Sander

Bacardi

Registered
i installed my 1tb drive today, i just plugged it on and powered up. The box said prepairing hdd and it then allowed me to access all the menu functions. I assume it reserves some space for time shift etc as i only have 860ish gb left to record on.

sander

Registered
I've been ill for a few days. Tried to get the HDD to work again last night.

When i try 'fdisk /dev/hda' it will respond
'Unable to open /dev/hda'

I opened the box and checked the power and SATA cables but the all look fine. I can here the drive spinning, so i know it has power.

Why is my box not recognizing the HDD?
I feel like a total noob.