Viark Sat 4k

Offtensive

Registered
Hi,

Complete newbie too this, will be setting up a Viark Sat 4K box later today. I just have a few questions as I don’t want to brick my box.

Is it just a case downloading the firmware and updating it via usb?
Is there an option on the menu to update it from the usb, and will any usb drive do or are there specific sizes and brands?
Finally, do I need to reset it to factory settings first or can I just go ahead and update the firmware?

Ferret

Marching On Together !
Staff member
Administrator
Install the firmware via USB yes best way.

Yes menu then USB and games to upload the new firmware.

No need to factory reset just upload the firmware.

Offtensive

Registered
Install the firmware via USB yes best way.

Yes menu then USB and games to upload the new firmware.

No need to factory reset just upload the firmware.

Cheers, do I need to register the serial number of my box anywhere?

barney115

Donating Member
Staff member
Administrator
Cheers, do I need to register the serial number of my box anywhere?
No there is no need whatsoever .
everything will be ready to go just need to scan your satellites and you are good to go :thum:

Offtensive

Registered
So I’m only getting channels on Vertical transponders. When I switch to a horizontal, my signal strength is 92% but the quality drops down to 0%.

I’ve got a Zone 1 dish and a quad output hybrid sky q lnb. My old Sky HD and my Zgemma work with any one of the 4 lnb outputs.

I did try the box with another output/port from the lnb too this morning, so can rule out it being the cable.

I have tried the ZGemma with the same connection from the lnb, and FTA channels (V & H) are working fine, so I think I can rule out the LNB.

I had done some searching around, and found some old stuff on google about Openbox/Skybox having similar issues. Apparently it was down to H requiring higher voltage than V.

I’ve tried switching the LNB power from 13V/18V to 18V, but it still didn’t work.