Note: Visitors from certain countries might see in-text advertising(underlind words in posts) or pop-under ads.
It is only shown to unregistered visitors or members that haven't made any posts. So you can easily get rid of it.

World-Of-Satellite

satellites.xml by yourself

Dreambox Settings

Reply
  #1  
Old 20-06-2020, 00:20  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
maumixio's Avatar
maumixio maumixio is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,596
Thanks: 2,698
Thanked 9,940 Times in 2,084 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default satellites.xml by yourself

I put this small mini guide for those who want to create or simply edit their own file remembering that each satellite has its own string I put examples and then a complete string especially of transponders with multistreaming streams so we also see this aspect particularly variable in these periods.
It can be edited with various methods. It can also be opened via a browser or with a text editor. I absolutely recommend Notepad ++, which is free on the net.
The modified file will eventually be sent via FTP to the decoder normally in the etc / tuxbox folder but you can also simply put it in / etc in this case the path etc / tuxbox is ignored and then followed by a restart of Enigma2.

Take an existing file, for example mine which is complete, I assure you that those on the net or automatically generated are deficient, and it looks like this; I cut the image to shorten what is needed for this guide and only 2 satellites





I describe the meaning of some lines and then the legend to insert and modify the parameters suitable for reception:

row 1, 2, 5 must remain as they are





The inside of lines 2 and 5 you can write your information they can be one line or many more depends on what you want to remember as annotations in this case for me 2 lines with information on the modification date and interested satellites are enough.

From row 6 we find the first information relating to the satellite (7) and the transponders (8 ....) until we find the closure (/ sat>)





Satellite:
<sat name="5.0W Ku-band Eutelsat 5 West A/B" flags="1" position="-50">
<sat name="9.0E Ku-band Eutelsat 9B &amp; Ka-Sat 9A" flags="1" position="90">
the negative position indicates a satellite to the west 5 ° W (-50) consequently the positive one to the east 9 ° E (90)

<transponder frequency = "10972000" symbol_rate = "29950000" polarization = "1" fec_inner = "3" system = "1" modulation = "2" />


frequency and symbol rate you know everything must only be in the format indicated ie in Hertz
polarization = 0 - Horizontal, 1 - Vertical, 2 - Left Circular, 3 - Right Circular
fec_inner = 0 - Auto, 1 - 1/2, 2 - 2/3, 3 - 3/4, 4 - 5/6, 5 - 7/8, 6 - 8/9, 7 - 3/5, 8 - 4/5, 9 - 9/10, 15 - None
system = 0 = DVB-S, 1 = DVB-S2
modulation = 0 - Auto, 1 - QPSK, 2 - 8PSK, 3 - 16APSK, 5 - 32APSK

Satellite with multistream transponder in addition to what is written above, flow parameters must be added: is_id pls_mode and pls_code

<transponder frequency = "11013000" symbol_rate = "30000000" polarization = "1" fec_inner = "7" system = "1" modulation = "2" is_id = "2" pls_mode = "1" pls_code = "131070" />

is_id = 0 - 255
pls_mode = 0 - Root, 1 - Gold, 2 - Combo
pls_code = 0 - 262142

The file is closed with </satellites>

It is taken from my legend of a few years I hope I have made it understandable and that it is still current (Combo is no longer used I think) if there are inaccuracies or additions to make, write here.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to maumixio For This Useful Post:
kugujen (20-06-2020)
  #2  
Old 20-06-2020, 01:50  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
abrasat abrasat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Where can your satellites.xml file be found?

I think that the satellite position in satellites.xml must match the configured satellite position in the config file. For instance if the satellite on 1 W is configured as position -10, but in your satellites.xml you configure it as 0.8 W (position= -8), they will not match and the channels will not be found
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-06-2020, 09:39  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
maumixio's Avatar
maumixio maumixio is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,596
Thanks: 2,698
Thanked 9,940 Times in 2,084 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

file usually located in /etc/tuxbox or simple /etc and I have no idea about a satellite located at 1°W but this one


<sat name="Intelsat 10-02/Thor (0.8W)" position="-8">


sometimes

<sat flags="1" name="Intelsat 10-02/Thor (0.8W)" position="-8">
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-06-2020, 16:34  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
abrasat abrasat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

The 1 W was just an example...
What I am trying to explain you is that you cannot just copy the satellites.xml file from one receiver to another, if you do not configure the same satellite position in the "/etc/enigma2/settings" file.

For instance the "1 W" position could look like this in the "settings" file:
config.Nims.0.advanced.sat.3591.lnb=3

This means 0.9 W (3600 means position 0)

This requires the following entry in the satellites.xml file:
<sat name="Int.707/Thor2,3(0.9W)" flags="1" position="-9">


The same for Astra. If you have 19.2E in the "settings" file described above:
config.Nims.0.advanced.sat.192.lnb=1

then you have to use the same position in the satellites.xml file:
<sat name="Astra (19.2E)" flags="1" position="192">

The satellite positions in the "satellites.xml" file and in the "settings" file have to match. You cannot give your satellites.xml to somebody else, unless he has exactly the same satellite positions in his "settings" file.

Where can your satellites.xml file be downloaded?

Last edited by abrasat; 20-06-2020 at 16:37..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-06-2020, 11:16  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
maumixio's Avatar
maumixio maumixio is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,596
Thanks: 2,698
Thanked 9,940 Times in 2,084 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abrasat View Post
The 1 W was just an example...
What I am trying to explain you is that you cannot just copy the satellites.xml file from one receiver to another, if you do not configure the same satellite position in the "/etc/enigma2/settings" file.

For instance the "1 W" position could look like this in the "settings" file:
config.Nims.0.advanced.sat.3591.lnb=3

This means 0.9 W (3600 means position 0)

This requires the following entry in the satellites.xml file:
<sat name="Int.707/Thor2,3(0.9W)" flags="1" position="-9">


The same for Astra. If you have 19.2E in the "settings" file described above:
config.Nims.0.advanced.sat.192.lnb=1

then you have to use the same position in the satellites.xml file:
<sat name="Astra (19.2E)" flags="1" position="192">

The satellite positions in the "satellites.xml" file and in the "settings" file have to match. You cannot give your satellites.xml to somebody else, unless he has exactly the same satellite positions in his "settings" file.

Where can your satellites.xml file be downloaded?

I don't understand btw this is my file for enigma2 receivers and geostationary satellites range Telstar 11N (37.6W) - Eutelsat 70B (70.5E)

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-06-2020, 11:29  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
kugujen's Avatar
kugujen kugujen is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Eurasia
Posts: 11,865
Thanks: 9,130
Thanked 56,988 Times in 11,365 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abrasat View Post
The 1 W was just an example...
What I am trying to explain you is that you cannot just copy the satellites.xml file from one receiver to another, if you do not configure the same satellite position in the "/etc/enigma2/settings" file.

For instance the "1 W" position could look like this in the "settings" file:
config.Nims.0.advanced.sat.3591.lnb=3

This means 0.9 W (3600 means position 0)

This requires the following entry in the satellites.xml file:
<sat name="Int.707/Thor2,3(0.9W)" flags="1" position="-9">


The same for Astra. If you have 19.2E in the "settings" file described above:
config.Nims.0.advanced.sat.192.lnb=1

then you have to use the same position in the satellites.xml file:
<sat name="Astra (19.2E)" flags="1" position="192">

The satellite positions in the "satellites.xml" file and in the "settings" file have to match. You cannot give your satellites.xml to somebody else, unless he has exactly the same satellite positions in his "settings" file.

Where can your satellites.xml file be downloaded?
Sincerly, I can't understand what the problem is. Of course if you change satellite names then old setting doesn't work.
But this is only a guide that explains how to edit satellites.xml file.
So we have to suppose who want to edit, had a capacity to adapt each satellites.xml files to his need.

Just as example, I use for my dm920 satellites.xml files present in vhannibal setting, but adapt it to my needs (as example adding double satellites for C-BAND positions).
So every time I'm doing a vhannibal setting update, simply I change new satellites.xml file with the one build by me and add missing c-band channels not present in vhannibal's taken from my old setting to the new one. I send everything to my dreambox and everything is fine
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kugujen For This Useful Post:
maumixio (22-06-2020)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:11.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2006-2019 - Sat Universe