Origin – Unparalleled Universe

adrianoluis

Origin-Unparalleled-Universe-696x710.jpg

Although they’ve been an active band (albeit in varying forms) for the last 20 years, I’m fairly new to the Origin fan base, having joined around the time Antithesis was released in 2008. Origin were not the first technical death metal band I’d heard (that distinction belongs to the mighty Suffocation), but they still managed to blow me away when I picked up a copy of Antithesis, with their ability to change time signatures at breakneck speed, layered vocals, relentless blastbeats, and their mix of technical prowess with sheer brutality. Nearly ten years and three albums later, it’s great to see Origin are continuing their rampage with their latest release, Unparalleled Universe.

As can be expected, the band wastes no time in punching the listener directly in the gut with the blistering album opener “Infinitesimal to the Infinite.” Everything you’ve come to expect from an Origin song is here: layered death growls, maniacal blastbeats, sweep-picked lead guitars coupled with rumbling bass, and ever-changing time signatures. The thing that always stands out about Origin is that when they change pace and direction in a song, it never feels like technical wankery, but instead like very natural and organic changes. “Mithridatic” is an excellent example of this; the song starts off in a blurry, nightmarish blast of grinding fury, which goes through a couple of crunchier moments before switching into a fist-pounding thrash metal-style rhythm. The transitions are flawless, and always feel like the most logical progression of each song, while still maintaining the element of surprise; in other words, each riff left me thinking “damn, that was the perfect riff to follow the opening riff,” and so on.