Go Back   Sat Universe > PC Section > Chat > Hardware Chat

Note: Visitors from certain countries might see in-text advertising(underlind words in posts) or pop-under ads.
It is only shown to unregistered visitors or members that haven't made any posts. So you can easily get rid of it.

World-Of-Satellite

AGP card with tv output ?

Hardware Chat

Reply
  #1  
Old 10-12-2008, 21:15  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
bethinked's Avatar
bethinked bethinked is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 252
Thanks: 459
Thanked 530 Times in 145 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default AGP card with tv output ?

i know the questions such as these have definetely been asked before ,however maybe once again !

if a buy an AGP card that supports moniter and has a TV output
and if i play a dvd in dvd drive ,
1. would it be possible to watch a film on TV?
2. would the clarity be good ?
3. would the clarity depend on AGP card memory (128 better than 64 to watch the tv output)?
4. will the colour display on tv in pal?
5. and not too familar with all this ,specially with brands! so please tell me the good brand name and price with 128 or any other agp ?

please note that my requirement for a TV output would primarily be to watch vcd dvd and hence want to know if it would be clear and if i need 128mb AGP for this...
i do not do any form of graphics work and so presume dont need 128 for normal use .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:09  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
Rocknroll's Avatar
Rocknroll Rocknroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6,155
Thanks: 10,315
Thanked 27,216 Times in 3,800 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

You should check if your motherboard supports AGP 4x or AGP 8x. In any case you should be able to get what you need with such a card.
You can get them for like 30 to 60£ or for less if you want a used one.

Picture from dvd should be fine and you should be able to set up dual display so you can watch those movies on tv while using pc monitor for doing something else.

If your tv is got vga connector it would be best to use dvi to vga adapter to hook up the graphics card to your tv.

Doubt it would be that easy to find some good and new 64mb card so you should be fine with 128mb.

As to brands you should be fine with some nvidia geforce card, or ati.
__________________
Malcolm X:"A man who stands for nothing will fall for anything." Voltaire:"Every man is guilty of all the good he did not do."
Henry Ford:"Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off the goal." Jesse Jackson: "Never look down on anybody unless you're helping him up."
Groucho Marx: "Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read."
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rocknroll For This Useful Post:
bethinked (11-12-2008)
  #3  
Old 11-12-2008, 20:37  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
bethinked's Avatar
bethinked bethinked is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 252
Thanks: 459
Thanked 530 Times in 145 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

thanks Rocknroll,
my intel915g motherboards with PCI Express X16 slots for video cards, but many says that Intel chipsets i915g/p will not support AGP at all !how i know that which video card is already in my intel915g motherboard ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2008, 20:55  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
k2k2000's Avatar
k2k2000 k2k2000 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 727
Thanks: 1,144
Thanked 1,157 Times in 357 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

run HWiNFO32 FREEWARE
http://www.hwinfo.com/download32.html
it will tell you wich card you have
__________________
skystar2;humax5400;mini-cuberevo e2;wdtv hd
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k2k2000 For This Useful Post:
bethinked (12-12-2008)
  #5  
Old 12-12-2008, 00:36  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
Rocknroll's Avatar
Rocknroll Rocknroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6,155
Thanks: 10,315
Thanked 27,216 Times in 3,800 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Don't think that motherboard has any agp slots but you are better off with pci-e anyway.
You can get pretty decent pci-e cards with 256mb for up to 30 quid.
__________________
Malcolm X:"A man who stands for nothing will fall for anything." Voltaire:"Every man is guilty of all the good he did not do."
Henry Ford:"Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off the goal." Jesse Jackson: "Never look down on anybody unless you're helping him up."
Groucho Marx: "Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read."
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rocknroll For This Useful Post:
bethinked (12-12-2008)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:39.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2006-2019 - Sat Universe