Go Back   Sat Universe > HDTV And Ultra HDTV > Cuberevo - Ipbox 9000 > Cuberevo mini - Ipbox 900-910 Chat

Note: Visitors from certain countries might see in-text advertising(underlind words in posts) or pop-under ads.
It is only shown to unregistered visitors or members that haven't made any posts. So you can easily get rid of it.

World-Of-Satellite

How to install E2 on External HDD - IPbox91(CubeRevo250HD) Please?

Cuberevo mini - Ipbox 900-910 Chat

Reply
  #11  
Old 11-09-2010, 00:02  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
kolyani4 kolyani4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asaphus View Post
OK... Here we go m8.

In this example I use a 320 gb usb hdd, Latest PGI image in the flash and latest PKT image (e2).

connect your usb hdd to the receiver
Power on with the dgs image and wait till you get a picture
download a usb.tar.gz version of your desired e2 image into your pc (desktop for example)

from your pc telnet to your box (with your password/login (root/relook))

then type:

1) umount /dev/sda1

2) fdisk /dev/sda

3) type p and enter

look for the name of your existing partition (sda1 for instance)

then type d and enter
delete the existing partition(s) one by one

4) Create 2 partition on the HDD


n for new partition
w for saving the partition

in my case, I created almost 2 equal partitions (one for the e2 image and another for pgi) like this:
(remember its for my 320gb hdd so you need to choose your own deppending on the capacity of your hdd).

type n then enter

choose p then enter

type 1 then enter

Now choose half of the capacity of your usb hdd, in my case:

1 - 16000 then enter (there are spaces between "1" and "16000" and "-" and "16000")

type 16000 and enter again

type n again
type p and enter
type 2 and enter
enter
and enter again

now type w to write the changes

4) Format each partition

to format sda1 partition type:

mkfs.ext2 -I 128 /dev/sda1 -L ext2
enter

to format sda2 partition type:

mkfs.ext2 /dev/sda2 -L ext2
enter


5) mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/usb

with FTP copy the image you want myimage1.tar.gz to /mnt/usb
TELNET
cd /mnt/usb
tar -vzxf myimage1.tar.gz
sync
rm myimage1.tar.gz

disconnect ftp

cd /
umount /dev/sda1

Now reboot your box and as soon as you see "BOOT" on the front display press and hold number 2 key on your remote for 8-10 seconds and you should be able to boot from e2 on your usb hdd

This way you can record and timeshift with both pgi and pkt images on one hdd

(if decided to use the pkt image you must remember to mount the sda1 through its mount manager (blue button on remote)

Good luck
This does'nt work on PGI 0.8 when i do umount its says no valid argument.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-09-2010, 21:09  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
asaphus's Avatar
asaphus asaphus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 60
Thanks: 46
Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

It works. You should ONLY have your HDD connected to the box, nothing else should be connected to the usb port.

If you get the massage "no valid argument" in step 1, it means that your hdd is not mounted, so start with step 2.

Last edited by asaphus; 12-09-2010 at 21:15..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16-11-2013, 06:38  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
ananadir ananadir is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 21
Thanks: 47
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

how to connect box and pc if either not have rs232 port???
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-03-2015, 11:17  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
manstrong manstrong is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

thank you hasan jan!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:10.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2006-2019 - Sat Universe