Go Back   Sat Universe > Off Topic > PC Section > Chat > General PC Chat

Note: Visitors from certain countries might see in-text advertising(underlind words in posts) or pop-under ads.
It is only shown to unregistered visitors or members that haven't made any posts. So you can easily get rid of it.

World-Of-Satellite

Very slow speeds with VPN

General PC Chat

Reply
  #31  
Old 21-04-2021, 16:22  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
dog-man's Avatar
dog-man dog-man is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: la la Land
Posts: 2,088
Thanks: 788
Thanked 2,056 Times in 1,002 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
Excellent mate that. One hell of a router that is.

What VPN do you use ?
NordVPN.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dog-man For This Useful Post:
Blade (21-04-2021)
  #32  
Old 22-04-2021, 16:38  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
ArloG ArloG is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 75
Thanks: 6
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Wireguard. That's the secret for router based VPN speeds.
Openvpn cannot support the speeds we're looking for when running on a router. Merlin has no plans for a Wireguard GUI as far as I can tell. And my RT-AC68U which supports hardware acceleration simply does not attain the speeds I'm looking for. I even overclocked it and no real difference except for running hot.

I used ExpressVPN for a year and was very happy. I decided to try Nord with close and far away exit's. Speed is pretty much the same on a 100 Mbps service.
So I stuck with Nord.
Sometimes upwards of 80ish, usually 40-50 Mbps.

Although Wireguard is installable on my router, since Merlin won't support a GUI. Switching client configs with openvpn is just much more simple. Since switching the VPN on and off is necessary to get my client based email and some streaming services, OpenVPN just makes sense.

That's about all I know for now.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ArloG For This Useful Post:
Blade (22-04-2021), gartner (22-04-2021)
  #33  
Old 22-04-2021, 17:05  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
Blade's Avatar
Blade Blade is offline
Marching On Together !
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16,144
Thanks: 17,698
Thanked 20,685 Times in 8,228 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArloG View Post
Wireguard. That's the secret for router based VPN speeds.
Openvpn cannot support the speeds we're looking for when running on a router. Merlin has no plans for a Wireguard GUI as far as I can tell. And my RT-AC68U which supports hardware acceleration simply does not attain the speeds I'm looking for. I even overclocked it and no real difference except for running hot.

I used ExpressVPN for a year and was very happy. I decided to try Nord with close and far away exit's. Speed is pretty much the same on a 100 Mbps service.
So I stuck with Nord.
Sometimes upwards of 80ish, usually 40-50 Mbps.

Although Wireguard is installable on my router, since Merlin won't support a GUI. Switching client configs with openvpn is just much more simple. Since switching the VPN on and off is necessary to get my client based email and some streaming services, OpenVPN just makes sense.

That's about all I know for now.
From what i understand wineguard can be installed via a script, never tried it mind.
__________________

VU+ Duo2
Japhar DM8000
A8P DM800SE
Amazon Fire TV Box 2nd Gen
T95Z Plus S912 3GB+16GB
TX3 Mini
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 22-04-2021, 17:13  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
dog-man's Avatar
dog-man dog-man is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: la la Land
Posts: 2,088
Thanks: 788
Thanked 2,056 Times in 1,002 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

I have seen WireGuard mentioned on NordVPN's website.
I must check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 23-04-2021, 18:19  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
scrotejim scrotejim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 13
Thanks: 36
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

It might be worth trying a different port for VPN, most providers will offer several ports, if Virgin is throttling the default pvn ports, on it's network, it might explain the issues

Protonvpn uses UDP:1194 as a default, but allows TCP:443 and a couple of others, from memory.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to scrotejim For This Useful Post:
dog-man (23-04-2021)
  #36  
Old 23-04-2021, 18:53  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
dog-man's Avatar
dog-man dog-man is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: la la Land
Posts: 2,088
Thanks: 788
Thanked 2,056 Times in 1,002 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrotejim View Post
It might be worth trying a different port for VPN, most providers will offer several ports, if Virgin is throttling the default pvn ports, on it's network, it might explain the issues

Protonvpn uses UDP:1194 as a default, but allows TCP:443 and a couple of others, from memory.
I shall investigate.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 23-04-2021, 19:11  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
manic01's Avatar
manic01 manic01 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,498
Thanks: 8,005
Thanked 2,017 Times in 858 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Wireguard on nordvpn is nordlynx
https://support.nordvpn.com/General-...s-NordLynx.htm

I use on fire 4k stick.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:57.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2006-2019 - Sat Universe