Go Back   Sat Universe > SAT Related > Satellite Equipment

Note: Visitors from certain countries might see in-text advertising(underlind words in posts) or pop-under ads.
It is only shown to unregistered visitors or members that haven't made any posts. So you can easily get rid of it.

World-Of-Satellite

Replacing cable and lnb

Satellite Equipment

Reply
  #1  
Old 13-09-2018, 14:23  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
dog-man's Avatar
dog-man dog-man is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: la la Land
Posts: 1,518
Thanks: 521
Thanked 1,690 Times in 771 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default Replacing cable and lnb

I am going to upgrade my system.

I have a 1.25 gibertini to install and I think it would be wise to replace my very old cables and upgrade to an Octo LNB.

Which satellite cable is currently the best?
Same question for an Octo LNB.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dog-man For This Useful Post:
barney115 (13-09-2018), OpenFox (13-09-2018)
  #2  
Old 13-09-2018, 14:40  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
Ferret's Avatar
Ferret Ferret is offline
Marching On Together !
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 15,243
Thanks: 16,420
Thanked 19,167 Times in 7,599 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Id go with CT125 thicker low loss version.

You'll need ct125 F connectors too.
__________________

VU+ Duo2
Wetek Play
Cloud Ibox 3
Openbox S6000 HD
SIM 2.1 DM800SE
SIM 2.1 DM500HD
Estar V3 DM800SE
VU+ Solo
DM8000 Clone
DM800HD Original
TM9101 DS-CVS Dual Boot, jiboot, EDG Nemesis 4.2, Nabilo Darkstar
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Ferret For This Useful Post:
barney115 (13-09-2018), dog-man (13-09-2018), OpenFox (13-09-2018)
  #3  
Old 13-09-2018, 15:16  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
barney115's Avatar
barney115 barney115 is offline
Donating Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eire
Posts: 20,887
Thanks: 47,437
Thanked 90,038 Times in 18,358 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

CT125 Coax Cable is very,very expensive
i have just installed 30 meters of Media bridge Coaxial Cable [ €25 for 100 meter roll ]
previously i always used plain RG6 , but i found a major boost in signals with Media bridge Coaxial Cable and as Ferret said
CT125 F Connectors ( Twist On type ) always was and always will be the simply the best : ))
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to barney115 For This Useful Post:
dog-man (13-09-2018), Ferret (13-09-2018), OpenFox (13-09-2018)
  #4  
Old 13-09-2018, 15:20  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
barney115's Avatar
barney115 barney115 is offline
Donating Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eire
Posts: 20,887
Thanks: 47,437
Thanked 90,038 Times in 18,358 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Golden Media Universal Octo LNB £25 on flea-bay
maybe find cheaper elsewhere but by far best LNB for offsset dishes i have ever tested .
good luck dog-man : ))
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to barney115 For This Useful Post:
dog-man (13-09-2018), OpenFox (13-09-2018)
  #5  
Old 13-09-2018, 15:30  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
Ferret's Avatar
Ferret Ferret is offline
Marching On Together !
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 15,243
Thanks: 16,420
Thanked 19,167 Times in 7,599 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barney115 View Post
CT125 Coax Cable is very,very expensive
i have just installed 30 meters of Media bridge Coaxial Cable [ €25 for 100 meter roll ]
previously i always used plain RG6 , but i found a major boost in signals with Media bridge Coaxial Cable and as Ferret said
CT125 F Connectors ( Twist On type ) always was and always will be the simply the best : ))
Googled but carnt seem to find it anywhere near that price.

PM a link if you get time.

cheers.
__________________

VU+ Duo2
Wetek Play
Cloud Ibox 3
Openbox S6000 HD
SIM 2.1 DM800SE
SIM 2.1 DM500HD
Estar V3 DM800SE
VU+ Solo
DM8000 Clone
DM800HD Original
TM9101 DS-CVS Dual Boot, jiboot, EDG Nemesis 4.2, Nabilo Darkstar
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ferret For This Useful Post:
OpenFox (13-09-2018)
  #6  
Old 13-09-2018, 15:41  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
Tesfer Tesfer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 312
Thanked 36 Times in 18 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

CT125 cable is much thicker than standard CT100/WF100/PF100 cable and can be pain to install. You will not notice any difference from good quality WF100 cable, that's what I would go for.

Whatever you get, make sure the it has a solid white shield (also called the insulator). You need WF100/PF100 not CT100 (although I've seen some cables advertised as CT100, but with solid shield.

Old spec cables used to have airspaces in the shield/insulator and over time that will cause problems.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tesfer For This Useful Post:
dog-man (13-09-2018), OpenFox (13-09-2018)
  #7  
Old 13-09-2018, 16:59  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
dog-man's Avatar
dog-man dog-man is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: la la Land
Posts: 1,518
Thanks: 521
Thanked 1,690 Times in 771 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

I must measure the length of the cable runs. They are quite long but most of it is under the floorboards so will have to be some measuring and some guessing.
When I do get round to installing the gibby 1.25 it will be a little further away than my current dish.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-09-2018, 17:10  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
dog-man's Avatar
dog-man dog-man is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: la la Land
Posts: 1,518
Thanks: 521
Thanked 1,690 Times in 771 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferret View Post
Googled but carnt seem to find it anywhere near that price.

PM a link if you get time.

cheers.
Me too Barney, please.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-09-2018, 17:43  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
manic01's Avatar
manic01 manic01 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 974
Thanks: 3,741
Thanked 1,255 Times in 527 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

£43 inc del
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CT125-RBS...gAAOSwEgVWRMty
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to manic01 For This Useful Post:
dog-man (13-09-2018), Ferret (13-09-2018), OpenFox (13-09-2018)
  #10  
Old 13-09-2018, 20:17  Translate from English to Italian  Translate from English to French  Translate from English to German  Translate from English to Spanish  Translate from English to Dutch  Translate from English to Greek  Translate from English to Portuguese  Translate from English to Russian  Translate from English to Russian
Ferret's Avatar
Ferret Ferret is offline
Marching On Together !
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 15,243
Thanks: 16,420
Thanked 19,167 Times in 7,599 Posts
Country: Country Flag
Default

Tesfer

Back in the days of DM500s and to some extent the 800 id had problems moving my motor over a 20 meter run with WF100 so i installed CT125 problem gone i also got a 3-5% signal increase on the weaker sats which was a nice bonus.

Its low loss both ways. I agree maybe on a shorter run youd not see the difference.
__________________

VU+ Duo2
Wetek Play
Cloud Ibox 3
Openbox S6000 HD
SIM 2.1 DM800SE
SIM 2.1 DM500HD
Estar V3 DM800SE
VU+ Solo
DM8000 Clone
DM800HD Original
TM9101 DS-CVS Dual Boot, jiboot, EDG Nemesis 4.2, Nabilo Darkstar
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:24.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2006-2016 - Sat Universe