Aliminiupg2 and rs232 cable : how to use ?

petma

Registered
Hello everyone,
I'm new to satellite tv and after some searching I found out that to upgrade my EL777 receiver to access tps channels I needed to upload the SW.v1.3.7.101707 file using Aliminiupg2.
So I got a rs232 cable, opened the Aliminiupg2 and chose the SW.v1.3.7.101707 and when I press next, it says: "test serial port status" and does nothing else.
Has anyone experienced the same thing and how did you manage to rectify? :confused:
Thank you for helping.
Petma

petma

Registered
Hi drahcirk03,

Thanks for you reply.
I did what you said but the windows keeps showing the same message ( test serial port status ). the loader I am sing is "ALI System Upgrade 22-11-2007.
Petma

satmoto

Registered
Hi,
Be sure you choose the right com.
When you see "test for serial status"
switch off ( rear of the receiver),wait 5 sec
then switch it on.
the download should start.
cheers.

forks

Donating Member
Hi
Does anybody know the Rs232 pin configuration for the EL777. I want to make my own cable.
Mike

petma

Registered
Hi,
Be sure you choose the right com.
When you see "test for serial status"
switch off ( rear of the receiver),wait 5 sec
then switch it on.
the download should start.
cheers.
Thanks,Satmoto,

I did what you said but the message "test serial port status" is still there".
After so many trials, I think I might need to change something in the configuration of the COM3 I am using. I don't see what else is wrong.
I am using a brand new rs232 with a 9pinF on the EL777 and a 15pinM on the PC and I don't have anything else to test it on.
Do you know anything about COM port configuration?
Cheer,
Petma

satmoto

Registered
@Forks @Petma
========CONNECTING YOUR PC AND STB=============
You need a 9 pin 3 wire null modem cable between the STB
and your computer. Best to have 9 pin serial connection on the Computer side as well. If you are making the cable yourself then
-> Connect 2-3 3-2 5-5. and nothing else.