DM800 tuner empty problem

doji
07-03-2013, 12:15
hello chaps,

hoping someone can help me with my 800, which, after flashing an 84b openpli image a week or so back, is saying tuner empty in tuner config.

i've tried reflashing with dreamup (serial) and with browser, using images going back to ssl76d and upto 84b, openpli, nemisis, de, dbuk, but they all say there's no tuner there!,

also i've swapped tuners as at first i thought it was h/w problem, used different pcs, different psus as well but it still says tuner empty..

any help greatly appreciated, i'm so close to sending it to the doorstop in the sky lol.

cheers fellas :clapping:

Ferret
07-03-2013, 12:25
Hi mate

I know youll will have gone through the motions but please go with the flow with this.

First try this
84b image.

http://www.divshare.com/download/17585905-b70

Have you tired sending in a patched driver tuner ko file after flashing with the tuner missing ? Should not need to but have you tried ?

Got a gut felling if your sure the new tuner is good this will turn out to be a mobo issue.

doji
07-03-2013, 12:35
Have you tired sending in a patched driver tuner ko file after flashing with the tuner missing ? Should not need to but have you tried ?

thanks mate, if you mean this:

http://www.sat-universe.com/showpost.php?p=782860&postcount=16

yes, just done it but still says no tuner, will try your link above right now

cheers bud.

ps. bet you had a laugh at that turkish ref t'other night :p

doji
07-03-2013, 12:47
no go mate, still tuner empty :mad:

Ferret
07-03-2013, 12:50
ps. bet you had a laugh at that turkish ref t'other night :p

No mate was a ManU fan for the evening Sssssshhhhhh say nothing lol

That driver should of worked but i meant just the patched KO

see attached

Flash the image i linked to if the tuner is missing still mthen ftp in the KO file and reboot.

If its missing still then it is a hardware issue possibly mobo if tuner is know to be good.

Ferret
07-03-2013, 12:52
Try the ko file mate that then proves its not image related.

I take it you checked the tuner is sat in its slot correctly.

doji
07-03-2013, 12:56
please excuse my ignorance mate but where does .ko file go?

doji
07-03-2013, 12:57
Try the ko file mate that then proves its not image related.

I take it you checked the tuner is sat in its slot correctly.

yes, done that, and made sure that the little spacer is holding it in level.

Ferret
07-03-2013, 13:14
please excuse my ignorance mate but where does .ko file go?

FTP to

\lib\modules\2.6.18-7.4-dm800\extra\

doji
07-03-2013, 13:33
thanks but still the same mate, looks like it's mobo problem then i guess

was wondering if usb tuner might solve it?

Ferret
07-03-2013, 13:37
Not seen any sat tuner drivers mate there all for DVBT i could be wrong.

Have a look for swollen caps on the board mate thats about all you can do, see your PM too.

Ferret
07-03-2013, 13:46
Mate check this thread out

http://www.sat-universe.com/showthread.php?t=233226

Take note of the earlier image he used been the only image that would work.

aliraza63
07-03-2013, 14:48
Some other tips may be can worked for u to .
1. Change the Power supply normally check with 12V/3.5 Amp
2. Remove the Cover and try to clean the Tuner slot with dry tissue paper
3. Check that Tuner if Possible in any other board.
4. Also check if there is any Capacitor is swelled at Tuner
5. Check that if the STB was near at any stage where it can take moisture easily then remove the cover and leave it in direct sunlight for an hour also .
Thanks all

BM300
07-03-2013, 16:34
When I had this problem, I solved it by installing an old image in the flash.
It was a DreamEliteBH_133D-DM800HD.

doji
07-03-2013, 20:11
When I had this problem, I solved it by installing an old image in the flash.
It was a DreamEliteBH_133D-DM800HD.


cheers bud, much appreciated, any chance of a link, finding these old images is a tad tricky :mecry:

mo.p
07-03-2013, 20:45
m8 i had same problem i used this dreambox-dvb-modules-sim201-mfaraj_2.6.18-7.4-dm800-20110506-r0_dm800.ipk after make sure restart the box

doji
08-03-2013, 11:12
m8 i had same problem i used this dreambox-dvb-modules-sim201-mfaraj_2.6.18-7.4-dm800-20110506-r0_dm800.ipk after make sure restart the box

thanks mate, ran it but still the same :(

doji
08-03-2013, 11:39
When I had this problem, I solved it by installing an old image in the flash.
It was a DreamEliteBH_133D-DM800HD.


thanks to a very good mate got that image now bud but still 'tuner a - empty (nothing)'

can only think it's motherboard issue, got tried and tested one coming next week so will take it from there.

i'll keep you informed.

thanks for all your help guys, appreciated :cool:

BM300
08-03-2013, 18:43
thanks to a very good mate got that image now bud but still 'tuner a - empty (nothing)'

can only think it's motherboard issue, got tried and tested one coming next week so will take it from there.

i'll keep you informed.

thanks for all your help guys, appreciated :cool:

Try following it by loading the drivers from TSpanel.
Hopefully it will wake up the sleeping tuner.

aliraza63
09-03-2013, 06:36
thanks to a very good mate got that image now bud but still 'tuner a - empty (nothing)'

can only think it's motherboard issue, got tried and tested one coming next week so will take it from there.

i'll keep you informed.

thanks for all your help guys, appreciated :cool:

Now its near to confirm That its Motherboard fault. cause the tips peoples had suggested and u have done ur self also . there is no chance other then . its not coming back to life then its sure it has some major fault

doji
09-03-2013, 13:59
yeeha!!! sorted, turns out it was mainboard, both tuners work fine on replacement mobo.

ain't got a clue what screwed it up but it's up and running fine now.

thanks to all who help and stuck with me, it's truly appreciated lads, we got there in the end :cool:

EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum